Lanchester Parish Council

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held at Lynwood House on Tuesday 13th May 2025 at 7.00pm

Present Cllr. K Harrison (Chair)

Cllr. A Gray, Cllr. E Hepplewhite, Cllr. T Jones, Cllr I Tute, Cllr. D Toner, Cllr. O Johnson, Cllr. S Walker, Cllr. D Smith

62/25 Election of Chair

Resolved - that Councillor Keith Harrison be elected as Chairperson for the ensuing year.

63/25 Acceptance of Office

The elected Chair signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

64/25 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received as follows:

Cllr. L Montgomery - other

Cllr. V Jackson - other

Cllr. P Jackson - away

Cllr. L Walker - ill

Cllr. J Smith - away

Cllr. B McDermid - other

The above apologies were received and accepted.

65/25 Election of Vice Chair

Resolved - that Councillor Paul Jackson be elected as Vice Chairperson for the ensuing year.

66/25 Committees / Appointment of Representatives

Councillors discussed the committees.

The following committees were agreed:

- Planning Committee
- Finance, Development and General Purposes Committee
- Complaints Committee (six Councillors to be selected as required)

Resolved that with regard to the Planning Committee and the Finance, Development and General Purposes Committee:

- (i) all Parish Councillors can attend committee meetings
- (ii) all Councillors attending have a voting right
- (iii) a committee meeting is quorate with a Chair and three other members

Resolved - that the following members be elected to represent the Council as follows:

Lanchester Community Association

Cllr. Ian Tute

County Durham Association of Local Councils Smaller Local Councils Forum

Cllr. David Smith

The clerk to investigate what is in place instead of the parish Council Committee

67/25 Banking Arrangements

Resolved that:

(i) Barclays Bank continue to provide the banking service for Lanchester Parish Council. Clerk to research a potential second bank account.

The business was concluded at 7.15pm